“Growing Old Gracefully”

Posted: May 23, 2016 in Uncategorized

Someone once said to me; “Why don’t you just age gracefully”
I am still not sure what that person meant or even what the term “growing old gracefully” means? Perhaps I should have asked.
My definition of growing old gracefully is taking care of myself and being the best version of my current self!
I try to do the right things; stay out of the sun, I don’t smoke, get plenty of sleep, exercise, eat right and the list goes on!
Sure I have a couple of Botox injections a year and have had Thermage® http://www.thermage.com/ done 3 times in 10 years, but I haven’t had any plastic surgery done or anything extreme; I’m just trying to maintain my youthfulness.
Part of my looking younger is really genetics, the rest is all up to me. I believe what I am doing is exactly that; I am growing old gracefully! Who says we have to just get into the proverbial rocking chair at a certain age and start wasting away or start neglecting ourselves and not caring about our appearance! Of course we should!!

Shame on you if you are one of “them”

I get compliments all of the time about how great I look for my age (I am still 29 haha) and of course that makes me feel great. But there is no magic pill for youthfulness!
Aside from genetics it takes a lot of hard work and perseverance, you can’t just throw some lotion on your face and call it a day, it really is a combination of many things that you do that will keep you young.

I will be writing a book about anti-aging not sure how long it will take me but it is in the works so look for it in the next year or two.
Until then, stay young and don’t let anyone tell you any different!
Oh by the way, the person that told me I should just age gracefully; that was my daughter. I believe once she is my age she will have a different perspective. I love her and all of my children more than words can convey!

Look for my next topic on age discrimination.

Betty J Budd

Leave a Reply

